The Merge Patient tool allows you to consolidate duplicate patient files. This article refers to the source patient as the duplicate file that will be archived or removed following the merge. The destination patient is the file that will receive the data from the source patient and will continue to be used following the completion of the merge process.

This tool must be used with caution as it is not possible to reverse this action

While the aim of the Merge Patient tool is to move as much data from the source patient to the destination patient, some user intervention may be required. Standing data, such as the patient’s Name, Address, Phone Numbers and Medicare Number may still need to be updated manually. This is necessary because these fields on the source and destination may contain conflicting data, and only the user can identify the latest and most accurate information to retain follow the merge.

1. Selecting patient files to merge

Navigate to the source patient file (the duplicate file), select the Cog icon at the top of the page and select Merge Patient.

A list of possible duplicate files are displayed along with the option to manually search for the destination patient file.

After selecting the destination patient file, you will see a comparison of basic patient details and an overview of the contents of both files. If required, use the Switch button to reverse the direction of the merge.

2. Merging accounts

The main action required is to select where the account and related invoice and payment data on the source patient should be transferred to on the destination patient.

It is only possible to merge certain types of accounts together:

  • Private type accounts can only be merge into another Private type account.

  • Third-Party Linked accounts can only be moved to the destination file as a new account.

  • Family accounts can only be merged into another Family account if both files belong to the same family.

3. Finalising the merge process

After reviewing the account details, the final step is to Confirm the merge process.

Proceed with caution as it is not possible to reverse this action

4. Archiving or deleting the source patient file

Once the merge process has been completed successfully, you will be asked what you would like to do with the source patient file.

As mentioned at the start of this article, standing data, such as the patient’s Name, Address, Phone Numbers and Medicare Number may still need to be updated manually. This is necessary because these fields on the source and destination may contain conflicting data, and only the user can identify the latest and most accurate information to retain follow the merge.

Did this answer your question?