Services are displayed to patients when booking online and are used to group a collection of related appointment types, such as those for the same profession or treatment type.
Services are managed in Settings > Online Booking > Services.
The page will display any existing services and their associated new patient and existing patient appointment types.
Select Add to create a new service.
Service Details
When creating a new service, specify the Service Name that will be displayed online to patients. The Service will need to be linked to one or more Professions.
The following settings can also be enabled:
Show Description - Explain more about this service to your patients. You can also link to another page on your website to elaborate on this.
Show Photo - Display a photo for the service.
Confirmation Prompt - Present a confirmation prompt that patients must confirm before finalising their appointment.
An example of the Service selection page that your patients will see is shown below:
Appointment Types
When creating a service, you need to specify the Appointment Types that New and Existing patients can select from.
Select Add and select the appropriate appointment type from the drop-down list. To manage your preferences for this appointment type, click either the appointment type's name or the cog icon on the right-hand side.
Tip: If you do not wish for New or Existing Patients to book for this service, do not add any appointment types to the respective grid.
When selecting the settings cog, the following popup will appear:
The following settings can also be enabled:
Display Name - Choose the display name for this appointment type that will be shown online. You can leave this blank if you wish to display the appointment type name that staff see when using PracSuite.
Description - Provide a description for this appointment type that will be displayed online.
Show Duration - Displays the length of the appointment according to the profession and practitioner defaults set on the appointment type.
Show Fees - Displays the fee for the appointment according to the default on the appointment type and the Guest Fee Category.
Allow Notes - Provides the option for the patient to enter a reason for their appointment when booking online.
Require Notes - Requires the patient to provide a reason for their appointment.
Confirmations - Confirmations are sent to the patient when they book their appointment online. Confirmation settings are configured per Appointment Type, separately for the New Patients and Existing/Logged-in Patients grids, from the same settings cog popup described above:
Confirmation Email Template - Choose Use System Confirmation Settings to apply your existing confirmation setup from Settings > Appointment Book > Confirmations, including any Business, Profession or Practitioner overrides, or choose a Custom Template to use one template for everyone who books this appointment type through this service. Confirmations should not be confused with Appointment Reminders, which are sent XX days prior to an appointment.
Confirmation SMS Template - Choose Use System Confirmation Settings to apply your existing confirmation setup from Settings > Appointment Book > Confirmations, including any Business, Profession or Practitioner overrides, or choose a Custom Template to use one template for everyone who books this appointment type through this service. Confirmations should not be confused with Appointment Reminders, which are sent XX days prior to an appointment.
Payments - Online payments are enabled for this appointment type. More info about online payments can be found here.
Excluded Practitioners - Toggle on "This appointment type cannot be booked with the following practitioners" and select which practitioners to exclude. Since a practitioner can work across multiple businesses, they appear as a separate option for each business they belong to (for example "Jess Gomes - Adelaide" and "Jess Gomes - Norwood"), so you can exclude them from one location without affecting others. Patients selecting an excluded practitioner won't see this appointment type, and if a patient chooses "any available practitioner," times will only be offered by practitioners who do offer it.
Tip: exclusions are set per appointment type, per service. If the same appointment type appears on both your New and Existing Patient grids, check the exclusion is set consistently on both to avoid confusion.











